The Haunting Power Of Taking Charge

Today I had a meeting that I *really* didn’t want to attend.

Long story short (ha!)… The other day we had an unfortunate cascade of fails that ended up with someone losing their life in a situation where they could have been saved. In the initial (knee jerk) investigation I, as the person in charge at the time, was found to be culpable. Well bollocks. B-(

As it was I was not, in any way, to blame and while the ‘charges’ against me were unreservedly dropped and the management apologised to me, I still had to attend a meeting this morning to deal with the aftermath and to put forward my side of the situation and sign an affidavit about it.

After I did that they all started talking about how they should deal with things ‘Moving forward’. Oh God… Yep, they started talking in management speak. To say the least, after working a 10 hour shift, I was a little miffed they spent 10 or so minutes talking in circles and with none of them coming up with anything remotely useful. So I gave up and used a trick my wonderful wife taught me while working at another job.

And so we get to the meaning of the title of this blog.

Don’t ask… Tell! I took charge for a moment and outlined a plan I had come up with. But I didn’t ASK if I could do it and then wait for permission. No, that would be the managerial way of doing it… Management will put forward ideas and then get someone else sign off and implement them so when it goes wrong THEY get the blame. No, I didn’t do that, I told them what I would be doing from here on in, what resources I would need and a list of the other people that would need to be brought into the loop.

Bugger me but they all went for it! O.o
The only problem, the one that may haunt me, is that this was my idea, my plan and my fault if it goes wrong. In a way I don’t mind. It’s a simple enough plan that, if everyone else does their job right, will work a charm. The only problem is that the original problem was caused because some people got lazy, some people got complacent and we got caught between them and unfortunately became the scapegoat. Thank God for vehicle trackers!

*sigh*
At least with this new plan in place it will be easy for me to overrule some people and keep control where we need it. The only other problem is that they may start to expect me to take charge on other things. Fuck that. Not in this shit-show. >.>

Hmm… And my wife things I can’t keep a story short… *rolls eyes* B-)

8 thoughts on “The Haunting Power Of Taking Charge”

  1. Oh shit shit shit shit. First for the person who unnecessarily died, second for you being blamed, third for being exonerated and fourth for running with it and making an effort to change things and be blamed again!
    I think you have the corporate-speak thing pegged, I could use you when I need to deal with my managers (one just blinked at me stupidly when I asked him for help today – guess who got angry and decided to learn something he should know how to do? Just to clear my workload today rather than next week sometime? Sigh).
    I hope you’ll be fine – and CYA is always a good philosophy. I worked for a law firm for a while, it helped me see how people will screw you over.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah… It was a shame someone died. But then they may have died anyway. Its just one of those problems you get working on ambulances… There is a lot of ‘What if?’ going on.

      The idea of immediate level management is that they can step in at any time to cover ANY AND ALL roles under his/her umbrella. The fact that they dodge anything is just a show that they should not have the position and they are only there out of some kind of loyalty or they couldn’t fire them.
      I often butt heads with staff above me unless they actually do try to get their hands mucky… Those people really do deserve your loyalty.
      CYA??? What’s that?

      Around here lots of people are almost scared to implement change because lots of people DO NOT like change. Even if its for a good reason.

      Like

  2. Ah, I had no idea what you do for work. Yes, they could have died anyway. CYA=Cover Your Ass.
    I agree about the change thing, too – funny to listen to my workmates moan when something new is implemented! My job could potentially have implications for vulnerable people, too. It’s why they sometimes bring in an engineer to fix something I could do in a second. Sigh. I told em, send me to product-specific engineering courses! Or something. I’d love that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am a part of a ‘make ready’ pilot scheme for emergency ambulances.

      funny thing… We have been asking to go on light mechanical repair courses (Light bulb replacement and things like that) since we started, but they said ‘No’… Now they are thinking of getting us to do the job anyway but with no official training, to which we all said ‘No’ and they dared to be shocked about it. >..>

      Like

      1. Good! Damn right, too. Then again, if you are officially trained and screw it up, it is on you then instead of the company! Which is why they spent ages here teaching us how to use a fuckin kick-stool. If we fall, it’s on us now. We signed a paper you know! CYA works both ways.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. In our job I can see why they would want us specifically trained on the majority of the kit. We even had to learn the basic used of all the consumables on the ambulance, even though we would likely NEVER use it in a real world event.
          But when it comes to changing a light bulb, something many of us have never done, we don’t get any training even when asked!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

